Homemade Spelt Soda Bread

Now that my oven is on the mend I’m looking forward to baking bread again! I love making a loaf of bread during the week to have with soup in the evenings or to bring into work with my lunch.

My favourite recipe at the moment is from an Irish blog, Like Mam Used To Bake. It’s a spelt soda bread recipe and I’m a big fan of it! It’s a lovely filling bread but you don’t get that horrible heavy bloated feeling that happens after wheat based breads.

Once you find the spelt flour and the fine oatmeal in a health shop you’re flying. They’re not the most difficult of ingredients to find to be honest! I also tend to make half the quantities recommended in the recipe as I only make the one loaf a week.

The bread freezes quite well, I slice the loaf once it’s cool and freeze it in batches of two slices. I take the slices out of the freezer as I need them. Freezing keeps my loaf of bread fresh for longer and as a little side bonus the frozen slices of bread keep my yogurt cool in my lunchbox! Lame but true!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Spelt Soda Bread

  1. I love making soda breads–it’s so quick! And last night I baked them even faster by turning my one big loaf into 8 minis. I should try spelt! My recipe used whole wheat. Also–I love your blog’s name. 🙂

Leave a Reply

