Mini Apple Pies

I saw an article by DCSweetTooth about a pie store in Georgetown. They make little mini pies, like mince pies, but with different fillings. I loved the idea of it! But, in the absence of a plane ticket to the states I had to make  my own miniature pies.

There were a load of cooking apples inexplicably knocking around my house. I think my parents philosophy is “If we buy it, she will bake it”. They’re generally right…

I decided to make miniature apple pies, given my abundance of the required raw materials. I started out by stewing the apples. Generally I wouldn’t stew apples if I was making a large apple tart. But as these were going to be mini pies I decided to stew the apples to be sure they cooked.

Once the apples were stewed I set to making the pastry. I used the sweet pastry recipe I always use for mince pies. I may have been overzealous with the filling though. Some of my poor mini pies overflowed a little in the oven… But as my great-great-granddad (seemingly) used to say – “Wilful waste makes woeful want.” So I stuck all my filling in the pie cases!

Recipe and more photos (I’m getting better at taking photos) are after the cut!

Aoife’s Mini Apple Pies

Filling Ingredients:

  • 2 cooking apples, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar

Method:

  1. Add all the ingredients to a heavy based saucepan.
  2. Cover and cook over a low heat.
  3. Stir occasionally until the apples are soft.
  4. Leave to cool.
Pastry Ingredients:
  • 225g plain flour
  • 150g butter, cubed
  • 2 tablespoons caster sugar
  • 1 egg yolk (keep the egg white back as a glaze)

Pastry Method:

  1. Sift the flour into a bowl and rub in the butter with your fingers until the mix resemble breadcrumbs, then stir in the sugar.
  2. Mix the egg yolk in. Add extra water if required and knead to form a dough.
  3. Wrap the pastry in clingfilm and leave in the fridge for 30 minutes (or the freezer for 15 minutes if you’re pushed for time) to chill.
  4. Once your pastry has chilled, roll it out and stamp out twelve rounds with a pastry cutter (I used 3inch round for the base).
  5. Place the rounds in your greased bun tin and spoon some of the apple mix into each pastry case.
  6. Roll out the remaining pastry and stamp into twelve smaller rounds (I used 2.5 inch for the top).
  7. Dampen the edges of the pastry in the tin and fix the top to the base. Seal the two pieces together by pressing them.
  8. Brush the top with the egg white and bake for 20-25 minutes at 170°C (that’s a fan oven, 190°C otherwise!)
  9. Leave in the tins for five minutes when they come out of the oven, then place them on a wire rack to cool.

3 thoughts on “Mini Apple Pies

  1. Pingback: Traditional English Apple Pie « From the Hobbit Hole Kitchen

Leave a Reply

