Red Velvet Cake

I’ve been asked to make a wedding cake for a friend and after a cake tasting they decided on red velvet for the top tier. I used a Lorraine Pascale recipe I got from the BBC Food website for this cake.



The recipe on the website makes a three tier cake. The cake I made was just for the tasting so I only used the quantities for the top tier. I also used the Hummingbird Bakery Red Velvet Cupcake frosting to ice the cake instead of covering the cake in fondant.

The recipe makes a really nice rich cake, it was the first time I’d made red velvet though – so I was quite shocked by the amount of red food colouring required!

4 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cake

  1. You should try the Sugarflair food paste, it’s crazy how bright it comes out and it’s not too expensive!
    What did you think of red velvet on the whole? Mine came out really, really soft last time I made them, and not really that tasty? I actually used the Hummingbird recipe too.

    • To be honest I didn’t think that much of the red velvet itself. It was nice but it wasn’t amazing. Then I tried a cupcake at a friends event recently and the red velvet recipe used was just delicious. So I might try again!

  2. Pingback: Red Velvet Cake | midatlanticcooking

  3. Pingback: On the Twelfth Day of Christmas Recipes: The Perfect Dessert | Brooklyn Locavore

Leave a Reply

