Jam Swiss Roll

Sometimes there is nothing nicer than a simple Jam Swiss Roll! I brought one into work recently following a request for a plain jam sponge.



I generally use a Darina Allen recipe from an old book – though there’s one online from Rachel Allen that’s exactly the same.

I don’t fill mine with cream if I’m bringing it into work – I’m always afraid it will get too warm and the cream will sour as we don’t have a fridge! And I always use raspberry jam, personally I think strawberry jam is too sweet!

I also tend to roll the sponge out on a rectangle of tin foil covered in caster sugar as opposed to baking parchment as I find the tin foil easier to work with when rolling (and then I use the tin foil to transport the finished swiss roll into work so I don’t waste anything!)

2 thoughts on “Jam Swiss Roll

Leave a Reply

